top of page

Grimoire 2017

June 2017 > Grimoire is a celebration of the dark side of creativity and The Brisbane Hotel Hobart, host a celebration every year mid winter, where Hobart's musicians and artists are supported to put on performances and installations in the hotel upstairs and downstairs for the punters pleasure. The Brisbane Hotel is one of Hobart's biggest supporters of local and travelling musicians.

My installation 'Tanked!' references my fascination with the fossil fuel industry and it's dominance through it's economic power and how ISIS militants are making millions of dollars from smuggling oil out of Syria in Petrol tankers. The original monoprint was A0 size, then enlarged to about 3 x 4m to fit snug as a paste up on the wall of the upstairs Hotel hallway. I later painted the bloodied target over the top to reference the approach the Russians had in attacking the supply line coming out of Syria in late 2015 and of course the old anti-war protest adage 'no blood for oil' was on my mind. Interestingly my grandfather was a spitfire fighter pilot, I'm not sure if this adds to my curiosity of such war games.


bottom of page